HNC has shared a photo gallery and a list of winners following last night’s inaugural Become Your Best Self Awards. Hosted at the University of Huddersfield, the evening celebrated a number of students who go above and beyond in upholding the College’s ASPIRE values.

As a College, HNC invites applications from students who want to make their contribution to the  College’s values of Authenticity, Self-Discipline, Passion, Innovation, Respect and Empathy.  Every student at HNC is expected to uphold these values in their lived daily behaviours, and last night’s ceremony was an opportunity to recognise our young people whose commitment to exceeding these expectations is genuinely ensuring they are becoming their best selves.

Following an opening speech from Tim Thornton, Deputy Vice Chancellor at the University, and Marcus Smith-Connor, HNC Principal,  senior staff shared more about just how special our award winners are in front of proud family and friends who joined the event as guests. The audience was able to hear just what made each winner so special with details about why each award winner had been chosen being shared. 

A list can of winners and a gallery can be viewed below.

Marcus Smith-Connor, Principal, comments: “It was a very special evening and was a genuine highlight of the year for me personally. Every award presented had a unique and different story behind it; however what is without a doubt is that each and every award winner is making their own priceless contribution to our College values. Each story was unique but consistent in that every award winner demonstrates an unrelenting commitment to becoming the very best version of themselves and in doing so, they are making the world, and our College, a better place for all. To be able to spend an evening in a room with them, hear their stories and see the joy on everyone’s faces as this was rightly recognised, was a privilege. Congratulations again to all of our winners!”

The College would like to thank the University of Huddersfield for hosting the event

Award winners

Authenticity Awards
Eliot L
Subhaan A

Self-Discipline Awards
Liberty H-H
Georgia W
Oluwatomilola A
Beatrice B
Molly B

Passion Awards
Lydia D
Holly P
Joseph H
Lydia M and Madison B (joint award)

Innovation Awards
Olivia B
Kabeer R

Respect Awards
Feminist Society Award: Ella S, Amelia B, Mia S, Jessica T, Kami T, Cheya W
Kayleigh P
Jessica T and Ezzah R

Empathy Awards
Keisha B A   
Maiya C

Overarching awards
The ASPIRE Award: Ellie M
The Living Authentically Award: Emily W
The Become Your Best Self Award: Rene A

Educate, Enrich, Enlighten
HNC Building Icon
Showcase Schools & Colleges
Siliver School Mental Health Award
The Quality in Careers Standard
Click Ceop Internet Safety
Disability Confident Leader